If you are charged with a DWI/DUI, it is imperative that you secure a New Hanover County DWI/DUI attorney. North Carolina has some of the harshest DWI/DUI penalties in the nation, and if found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you can face anything from fines and the loss of your license to years in jail. The best chance you have at avoiding these penalties and the stigma that follows a DUI/DWI conviction is to hire a lawyer with knowledge of the local laws.
Attorney Chris Oring has been practicing law for over 15 years. He has the experience to guide you through every step of the process, from what to do if you are arrested for drunk driving to dealing with everything that comes after. Chris has successfully defended clients for years to get the best possible outcome from their DWI/DUI trial in New Hanover County.
What is DWI/DUI?
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense in all states, and North Carolina is one of the harsher ones when it comes to punishing those charged and found guilty of it. It is also referred to as drunk driving, drinking and driving, impaired driving and operating under the influence.
Most commonly, DWI or DUI happens when a person operates a motor vehicle (or sometimes other heavy machinery) after drinking too much alcohol, but it can also result from overuse of legal or illegal drugs. In North Carolina, you are considered driving under the influence if your blood alcohol level exceeds 0.07%
What are the Penalties for DWI/DUI?
Penalties for a DWI or DUI in New Hanover County vary depending on how many previous offenses you’ve had. Note that a level 5 offender is the lowest level of DWI/DUI offense.
|First Offense||Second Offense||Third Offense|
|Minimum Jail||24 hours||4 days||14 days to 2 years|
|Fines and Penalties||$200 (for level 5 offender)||Depends on level of offense||Depends on level of offense|
|License Suspension||From 60 days to 1 year||1 to 4 years||1 year to permanent|
There are a lot of factors that go into determining the penalties for a DWI/DUI charge in New Hanover County. To discuss specifics, please call attorney Chris Oring at 910-763-9925 or use the contact form at the bottom of this page to schedule a legal consultation.